Skip to content

Fava bean pods: have you ever tried them?

April 14, 2011

 This my first post on my new blog Ecocucina (English), the Italian version of my blog started 2 years ago but now is the right moment to share my recipes also with other friends (not only italians).

Thanks to my friend Lorna who helped me translate many pages and the following recipe. The first one is about fava bean pods: have you ever tried them?

I’ve been waiting for a while for fava bean season because I wanted to try and use the pods, just like I did with pea and borlotti bean pods.

This was a real surprise for me as I had never eaten fava bean pods and I was somewhat sceptical. I can absolutely recommend trying them as they are delicious. This initial recipe is really simple, but other, more elaborate ones will follow shortly. If you have your own recipes for fava bean pods, please feel free to send them to me: I’d be more than happy to try them out and publish them!

Among other things, the pod of the fava bean (the bit we normally throw away) represents approx. 90% of the weight of the purchased product…just think what a waste that is especially seeing as they are not only edible but delicious.

Naturally they are not eaten raw but with the appropriate cooking time.

Serves 6. All ingredients should be organic.

 

Ingredients

The shelled pods of 1 kg of fava beans

Bread (1 or 2 slices per person)

Extra-virgin olive oil, fruity and robust if possible

Salt and pepper

1 clove of garlic

 

Preparation

Wash the shelled pods very well. Cook them in a pressure cooker with a little salted water for approx. 5 minutes from the whistle or for 10 minutes in a traditional pot. Drain well and then grill on a medium heat for at least ten minutes, turning them from time to time. Grill/toast the bread and rub with the garlic clove. Remove the two fibre strands and the little stalk from the pods and cut up finely. Season with extravirgin olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Arrange the pods on the bread ‘bruschette’ and serve. Enjoy!

 Lisa

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 3:49 pm

    Hi Lisca, tried this recipe and loved it – yummy!

  2. Marga Salvador permalink
    April 12, 2012 8:17 am

    It’s delicious. I tried it two days ago and yesterday I came up with another recipe. I cooked the fava pods as indicated. Then in a wok I stir fried an onion, a handful of “sad” mushrooms ( with stalks, of course), some outer leaves of a cabbage and some bacon ( which had recently expired, but no danger implied, hahaha). Then I added the fava pods. I expecting some of my neighbors to eat some beans so I can collect the pods. The pods I cooked where my friend’s, who was kindly enough to drop by my place and leave some. For a vegetarian version just leave the bacon out and add garlic. I hope you like it. Regards from Spain

  3. September 11, 2013 2:31 pm

    hola, Lisa, tengo una escuala de cocina en Madrid. si me das tu mail te cuento una idea que tengo.
    Maite

Leave a Reply

