Skip to content

Spicy Rice Biscuits

November 16, 2012
tags:

There are a lot of things you can do with leftover rice. Even cooking water should not be wasted. The best thing you can do is cooking rice with just the right amount of water, so that the rice will soak it up completely.  In case you need to cook rice for a rice salad, though, you will need to boil the rice in abundant water to keep the grains firm. In this case, my suggestion is to wash the rice before boiling it, a technique which is very common in the Far East and allows you to remove the excess starch. Just like the cooking water, the washing water can be used to thicken a soup or a sauce or to irrigate your plants. This recipe will turn your leftover rice into light, tasty and crisp biscuits.

 

Ingredients
150 g boiled rice
2 tbsp cold rice cooking water
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tbsp paprika powder
1 tsp dill powder
dried tomato skins
2 albumens
extra virgin olive oil
salt & pepper

 

Preparation
For this recipe you can even use some leftover saffron rice: your biscuits will be even tastier. The rice should not be too hot, otherwise the whisked egg whites might get too soft. Blend your boiled rice with cooking water and put it in a bowl. Whisk the albumens until stiff and add them to the rice along with a pinch of salt. To form your biscuits, put some greaseproof paper on the oven plate and lay the mixture by the spoon. Sprinkle the biscuits with spices (try to obtain different colors) and add the tomato skins.Bake for 40 minutes at 140 degrees Celsius. You can try a different version by adding sesame or poppy seeds to your biscuits. For a sweet variant, cover your biscuits with dark chocolate flakes before baking them – even salted rice is ok, provided that no other ingredient has been added. Once ready, your spicy rice biscuits will keep for up to one week.

Lisa

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2013 9:44 am

    I pay a quick visit each day some blogs and information sites to read
    content, except this weblog presents feature
    based content.

  2. May 9, 2013 8:39 pm

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  3. May 11, 2013 10:19 am

    I do go along with everything that is compiled on this blog.
    I really need to say we do have the exact same ideas concerning this topic and I am glad I am not the only one.
    Keep up the good work!

  4. May 13, 2013 3:45 am

    Is that how you view this area of interest?
    I am not sure if I should agree or not then again I must say we all have
    distinctive viewpoints.

  5. May 17, 2013 2:54 am

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I
    ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  6. May 17, 2013 9:44 pm

    Passing by your blog once more and I must say you still have your touch!

    This article explains everything, I don’t have to check out other people’s page to comprehend it
    more. You said everything I must know. Thank you!

  7. May 22, 2013 5:27 am

    I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your information.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  8. May 24, 2013 5:22 am

    I think this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.

    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However want to remark on some normal issues, The site style is great, the articles is truly nice : D. Good process, cheers

  9. May 25, 2013 4:27 am

    Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed
    account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your feeds
    and even I fulfillment you get admission to consistently fast.

  10. May 30, 2013 1:29 am

    Excellent web site you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!

    !

Leave a Reply

